Subscribe Now

* You will receive the latest news and updates on your favorite celebrities!

Trending News

29 Nov 2022


Literary Awards in India
Important India GK Topics, India GK

Literary Awards in India 

4. Literary Awards in India Literature Awards in India are instituted to appreciate the great work of literature of Indian writers. Some of the famous Literary Awards in India are as follow: i) Jnanpith Award: Jnanpith Award, which is also known as Gyanpeeth Award, was instituted in 1961. It is the highest literary award in India which is conferred by the Gyanpeeth Trust only to those Indian writers who have worked in a language which is recognized in the Indian Constitution. The recipient of this award receives a statue of Goddess Saraswati along with a cash prize. Famous Recipients of Jnanpith Award:
  • Sankara Kurup for his work in Malayalam ‘Otakuzhal’ in 1965. He is the first writer to receive Jnanpith Award.
  • Krishna Sobti for contribution in Hindi in 2017.
ii) Sahitya Akademi Fellowship: Sahitya Akademi Fellowship is a literary award or honor awarded by the Sahitya Akademi, which is National Academy of Letters of Govt. of India. It is awarded to the ‘immortals of literature’ and can be presented to a maximum of twenty-one writers at the given time. This fellowship is instituted in 1968; the Akademi selects the recipient as its fellow. Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, a philosopher and statesman, is the first person to receive this fellowship. iii) Sahitya Akademi Award: Sahitya Akademi Award is a literary award which is conferred to Indian writers for their excellent works of literary merit. It is instituted in 1954 to honor the writers for their books of literary merit written in any of the recognized languages of India. The recipient of Sahitya Akademi Award receives a casket which contains an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and a cash prize. The first recipient of Sahitya Akademi Award is Makhanlal Chaturvedi for his book ‘Him Tarangini’ in 1955.

Related posts