Subscribe Now

* You will receive the latest news and updates on your favorite celebrities!

Trending News

29 Nov 2022


President of India
India Politics, Politics

President of India 

The president of India is the official head of state of India as well as the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces. The president of India is regarded as the first citizen of India and is elected by an electoral college which comprises both the houses of the Parliament of India: the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha and also includes the members of the Vidhan Sabha. He or she is also known as Rashtrapati and his or her official residence is known as Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The term of office (tenure) of the president of India is five years. During the absence of President, the Vice president assumes the office. Since the establishment of this post and after India became a republic with the adoption of the Indian constitution in 1950, there have been fourteen Presidents of India including the Ram Nath Kovind who is currently serving his tenure since 25 July 2017.  The first President of India is Rajendra Prasad and he is also the only president who has held the office for two terms. Additionally, Pratibha Patil is the first women as well as the only woman till 2019 to serve as the President of India.   

Who can become the President of India/ Eligibility?

As per Article 58, a candidate who fulfils the following conditions is eligible to contest the election for the post of the President of India.

  • Must be a citizen of India
  • Age should not be less than 35 years   
  • Must  be qualified to become a member of the Lok Sabha
  • Should not be holding an office of profit under the Govt. of India or any Indian State or any other authority under the control of central or state government
  • However, may hold the office of President or Vice-President or Governor of any State or Minister of the Union or any other State

List of Presidents of India:

  1. Rajendra Prasad
    The term of office: 26 January 1950 to 13 May 1962
  2. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
    The term of office: 13 May 1962 to 13 May 1967  
  3. Zakir Hussain
    The term of office: 13 May 1967 to 3 May 1969 (Passed away in the middle of his term)
  4. V.V Giri
    The term of office: 24 May 1969 to 24 August 1974
  5. Dr Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
    The term of office: 24 August 1974 to 11 February 1977  (Passed away in the middle of his term)
  6. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
    The term of office: 25 July 1977 to 25 July 1982
  7. Giani Zail Singh
    The term of office: 25 July 1982 to 25 July 1987
  8. R Venkataraman
    The term of office: 25 July 1987 to 25 July 1992
  9. Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma  
    The term of office: 25 July 1992 – 25 July 1997
  10. K R Narayanan
    The term of office: 25 July 1997 to 25 July 2002  
  11. Dr APJ Abdul Kalam
    The term of office: 25 July 2002 to 25 July 2007
  12. Pratibha Devisingh Patil
    The term of office: 25 July 2007 to 25 July 2012
  13. Dr Pranab Mukherjee
    The term of office: 25 July 2012 to 25 July 2017
  14. 1 Ram Nath Kovind
    25 July 2017 to Present 

Related posts